Chakra - Chakras Your Hidden Energy System

Chakra energy runs through you whether you are aware of it or not, and whilst some are aware of the main 7 chakras in their bodies there are actually more than that and they do more than most people realise.

What Are Chakras?

In simple terms they are energy centres. Whilst energy in its purest form is free from purpose, form and intent, each energy centre has a purpose, each one influencing the results you perceive in different ways, though all working together in unison.

The Seven Chakras Which Are Commonly Known

The seven chakras that most people are aware of are the ones that follow in a vertical line up through the body to the top of the head. These range from the physical through to the spiritual and govern energies over your day to day experience and flow into the beginning of your spiritual development too. That said there are a variety of other chakras that most people are unaware of, lesser chakras around your body and limbs, including within the centre of your hands. Plus the transpersonal ones, the etheric ones which continue on above your crown, and the sub-personal ones located below your feet. For now as a gentle introduction these are the 7 that most people are aware of.

The Root Chakra - 1st Red

Your root chakra is located at the base of your body, up between your legs at the top, commonly known as your base chakra or 1st chakra. Amongst other things it governs your experience of the physical including your physical health, stamina and your ability to manifest i.e. make your dreams come true.

The Sacral Chakra - 2nd Orange

Your sacral chakra is located approximately 50mm (2in) below your navel, and is also known as your 2nd chakra. It governs your creative side in the main, making it important to artists, writers, marketers, singers, musicians and anyone who has a creative element to their life or work.

The Solar Plexus Chakra - 3rd Yellow

Your solar plexus chakra is located just below the point where the left and right sides of your ribcage come together and is also known as your 3rd chakra. It is largely related to issues of confidence, will and your ability to project your will out into the world, as such making it very important for anyone wishing to make their dreams come true.

The Heart Chakra - 4th Green

Your heart chakra is located approximately half way between your solar plexus and the central dip in your collar bone and is also known as your 4th chakra. Mainly it is known for its influence over your perception of love, as well as your feelings of self esteem and self worth.

The Throat Chakra - 5th Blue

Your throat chakra is located approximately half way up your throat and is also known as your 5th chakra. It largely governs your ability to communicate with the world around you, your ability to both understand and be understood. Your sense of independence is also said to come from this chakra, thus issues of clinginess and your sense of security come from here too.

The Third Eye Chakra - 6th Violet

Your third eye chakra is located mid forehead, above your eyebrows and is also known as your 6th chakra. Your third eye governs your intuition along with your ability to “see the big picture” amongst other things.

The Crown Chakra - 7th White

Your crown chakra is located at the very top, the crown, of your head and is also know as your 7th chakra. Your spirituality is governed here, everything to do with how you perceive your connection with the universe and the relative importance of things comes from here.

Chakra Balancing, Cleaning and Healing

From time to time things happen that affect how efficiently your chakras work. Their flow can be affected along with their ability to positively influence your world.

For example if your heart chakra is unbalanced or out of sorts then you may experience difficulties within relationships, have issues with low self-worth and low self-esteem, or any of a number of other issues. If your third eye s affected then your ability to sense what is coming or what is truly happening, through intuition, can be massively off. Whilst your root chakra can lead to possible financial issues and challenges with manifesting in the world. A blocked solar plexus can hugely diminish your ability to achieve your goals and dreams too. These are just a few examples.

So taking time to clean, heal and balance your energy centres is very important.

Chakra Meditation

As with all meditation types you being in a relaxed state and at ease is important here. Your energy system is fairly sensitive, more so than most people realise. It picks up on things before most people physically or consciously realise that it has done so, so working with it calls for a gentle and calm approach.

When doing chakra meditation you can choose freely between a seated position or a more reclined or even lying down position. The most important thing is your focus. For this type of meditation complete concentration is key, you are working with your energy centres on one of the most subtle layers and so care is advised. There are also a variety of different types of meditations that you can do depending on the effect you wish to achieve.

You can discover more on how to do chakra meditation here.

Chakras Influencing The World You Perceive From A Subtle Level

Your chakras are always working on creating the world you experience around you. Even when out of balance, blocked or in need of healing they are working, as such at times they are working less than efficiently, something which can lead to the challenges you experience in the world and things that you do. Gaining a deeper understanding of them, how to take care of them so they work efficiently and how to channel your energy through them most effectively is thus something which can be incredibly beneficial to your experience of life and your ability to achieve your dreams and live joyfully.